Friday, 22 June 2018


In what was a chaotic feature race on Saturday night at Brisbane’s Archerfield Speedway, it was James Kennedy who outlasted his rivals to win the final KRE F500 Championship Series round, while Liam Williams’s runner-up finish was enough for him to take out the overall Championship point score.

Despite the turbulence of the feature race, which was shortened to 15 laps as a result of several stoppages, Kennedy was undeterred, achieving a clean sweep of the event, after being undefeated in both of his heat races and going on to take the feature-race win. However, a consistent performance from current and three-time Australian Champion Williams throughout the season saw him consolidate his points lead to claim the Championship Series crown ahead of Kennedy.

000 James Kennedy

Lining up in pole position alongside Williams for the 15-lap feature race, Kennedy was in strong form from the outset, immediately taking the lead. Despite a number of attacks from Williams and third-placed Ryan Skennar, which saw the trio racing three-wide for a number of laps in the opening stages, Kennedy kept his composure, going on to greet the chequered flag in first by a narrow margin, with Williams quickly following him across the finish line.

Completing the podium in third was Kaydon Iverson, with Tristan Johnson and Kristin Brown rounding out the top-five finishers. Nathan Pronger, Glenn Morgan and Marshall Lewis were the only other finishers.

With over half of the 21-car field becoming involved in numerous incidents, all of which took place in the opening five laps, the crowded infield resembled more of a car yard. Skennar’s promising run was brought to a disappointing and premature end, along with Ryan McNamara, Garry Edwards, 410 Sprintcar regular Jayden Peacock, Piper Ogilvie, Randy Morgan, Nick Hodges, ex-Lightning Sprint racer Dion Prowse, Graham Williams, Tony Bailey, Bryn Upshall, Royce Harvey and Ethan Eyears (NSW).

With Kennedy being unstoppable in both of his earlier heat races, the remaining two heat-race wins went the way of Williams and Skennar.

The Brisbane Formula 500 Club is proudly supported by KRE Race Engines. To find out more about KRE Race Engines, visit or LIKE them on Facebook by searching KRE Race Engines. Associate supporters are Ian Boettcher Race Parts and Myla Graphics.

To keep up-to-date with everything regarding the Brisbane Formula 500 Club, LIKE them on Facebook by searching Brisbane Formula 500 Club.

250 boetcher

250 clarko

250 5STAR Side BannerA

 NEW awsr sml

keens5 4 2017 sml

7 3 18 blackswhaw layered 249

v3 2017 GW sml

250 redline 250

250 amca

250 qlsra 249x84

power plus 250px