Friday, 22 June 2018


Though the 2016-17 season saw a number of individuals stand out during various stages, one continuous dominant force was without a doubt Liam Williams.

1. Liam Williams (Qld)
A massive 2016-17 season saw Williams reach new heights in his Formula 500 career, with the talented driver achieving a career-best 15 feature-race wins, which included going back to back to claim his third Australian Title crown at Murray Bridge Speedway in April. Managing to successfully defend his Queensland Title, Williams also picked up the Victorian and ACT Titles, and first place in the overall Speedweek Series, Jack Willsher Cup and KRE F500 Championship Series, and runner-up in the NSW Title and King of the Bridge, undoubtedly making him our number one pick.

Liam Williams Corey Gibson

Photo: Corey Gibson Photography

2. Thomas Davies (WA)
Despite having limited track time this season, Davies certainly held his own against the heavy-hitters, impressively qualifying in pole position for the Australian Title, before finishing runner-up to Williams. Racing solely throughout his home state, excluding the Australian and SA Titles, Davies also occupied the runner-up spot in the Bunny Burrowes Memorial, while completing the podium in third in the WA Title.

3. Chris Bellman (Vic)
With a number of feature-race wins under his belt, Bellman’s 2016-17 season highlight came when he delivered an almost flawless performance in the King of the Bridge at Murray Bridge Speedway to take a hard-fought victory. Backing up his solid form, Bellman went on to finish runner-up in the overall Victorian aggregate point score, third in the Victorian Title, fourth overall in the Speedweek Series and the Stampede Series, and a fifth in the Australian Title.

4. James Aranyosi (Vic)
Named Victorian Formula 500s Driver of the Year in what was his final season with the class, Aranyosi was a model of consistency, managing to pick up his fourth career Driver’s Aggregate award, by virtue of scoring numerous feature-race wins and minor podium finishes. Despite his season being riddled with mechanical misfortune, as evident in the Australian Title, where he charged from 16th to fifth before suffering a heartbreaking engine blow-up, the standout driver managed to place second in the Jack Willsher Cup and the overall Stampede Series, while also coming away with third place overall in the Speedweek Series.

17 7 17 speedpartz

5. Jack Bell (Vic)
Taking out the Grant Sealey Memorial at Laang Speedway in December, young gun Bell continued to run towards the pointy end of the field throughout the season, with the former SA Champion managing to go back to back in the Stampede Series, along with collecting some minor podium finishes and coming home a pleasing fourth in the Victorian Title.

6. Grant Stansfield (Vic)
A strong season from Stansfield saw him regularly running towards the front of the pack, as evident in his performance throughout the Speedweek Series, where a feature-race win in the final round earned him the runner-up spot overall by just one point behind Williams. Completing the podium in third in the Tasmanian Title, Stansfield also placed fourth in the King of the Bridge.

7. Josh Buckingham (Vic)
While Buckingham didn’t quite have the season he was hoping for and was unable to defend his state title crowns, the former NSW and SA Champion turned heads at the Australian Title, when he became the best Victorian finisher, coming home in a strong third place.

8. Glenn Carstairs (WA)
A veteran when it comes to speedway racing, it was clear this season that Carstairs has lost nothing when it comes to his competitiveness, seizing the win in the WA Title and remarkably reaching the podium in 11 of his 15 contested race meetings. Taking out the Perth Motorplex Track Championship, Carstairs’s pace was undeniable, setting a new one-lap track record that had stood for nearly a decade, while also finishing third in the Bunny Burrowes Memorial at his home track: Narrogin Speedway.

9. James Kennedy (Qld)
Ending his season on a high by winning the final KRE F500 Championship Series round at Brisbane’s Archerfield Speedway and ultimately placing second overall in the series, thanks to a number of strong performances, Kennedy also managed to come away with a runner-up result in the Queensland Title for the second time in as many seasons.

10. Matt Redpath (Tas)
Once again proving that he is one of the leading racers on the Apple Isle, Redpath delivered a herculean effort in the Australian Title, coming from rear of field to greet the chequered flag in seventh. He also managed to reclaim the Tasmanian Title crown at Carrick Speedway in dominant fashion, after previously going back to back in the event in 2006 and 2007.

250 boetcher

250 clarko

250 5STAR Side BannerA

 NEW awsr sml

keens5 4 2017 sml

7 3 18 blackswhaw layered 249

v3 2017 GW sml

250 redline 250

250 amca

250 qlsra 249x84

power plus 250px