The 2017 Everyday Finance Solutions Australian Lightning Sprint Title last Saturday night at Brisbane’s Archerfield Speedway saw Lismore-based racer Kurt Wilson out-perform his rivals to successfully defend his crown.

In what was a fantastic display of close and competitive racing, the Australian Title was a great success, with each of the drivers giving their all in the hope of achieving top honours. However, in the end it was Wilson who prevailed, scoring back-to-back Australian Title wins, after winning last season’s running of the event at Sydney’s Valvoline Raceway.

Wilson 1

Lining up alongside pole-sitter Jordan Binskin, it was Wilson, the current and two-time NSW Champion, who made the most of the start in the 25-lap feature race, immediately seizing the lead from the drop of the green flag and going on to retain it through to the fall of the chequered flag. Unable to pip Wilson once he was out in front, Binskin was forced to settle for the runner-up spot, ahead of newly-crowned Queensland Champion Wayne Iacono in third.

The highest B-grade finisher, Danny Stone gave a solid performance to finish just off the podium in fourth, with Keith Blatch rounding out the top five. Fast-paced rookie Aaron Kelly was unable to capitalise on his third-place starting position, slipping back to sixth in the early stages, while David Van Vegchel, Kirsty Kelly (Aaron’s older sister), Brett Davies, who piloted the highest placed diff-driven car, and Jason George completed the top-10 finishers. Remaining finishers were Chris Davis and Michael Gollagher.

It was a challenging night for two-time Australian Champion Dave Fanning, which culminated with a DNF 17 laps into the feature race, while Jason Busk was also forced to the infield, after a crash in his second heat race left him battling ongoing issues. Alan Brosnan, Shane Matthews, Matt Reed, Mick Hunter and Scott Moir also suffered premature retirements due to a range of mechanical issues.

17991910 10210805749753084 9096668311721297645 n

Photo: Colin Stratford

In the earlier heat-race action, Wayne Iacono was the form driver, coming away with to heat-race wins, while remaining heat-race wins were shared between Van Vegchel, Sean Iacono, Binskin and Wilson.

The Dash saw Binskin secure his pole starting position for the Australian Title deciding feature race, leading home Wilson, Aaron Kelly, Wayne Iacono, Blatch and Van Vegchel.

Special thanks must go to Everyday Finance Solutions for their naming-right’s sponsorship of this season Australian Title. To find out more about Everyday Finance Solutions, visit their website on or contact Alan Peters via mobile on 0438 794 548.

To find out more about the Queensland Lightning Sprints, look them up on Facebook by searching Queensland Lightning Sprints. Also, check out their website that can be viewed at