In what’s arguably one of the biggest events in Australia’s Speedcar history, the Sydney City 50 Lap Speedcar Classic, which doubles as the Trans-Tasman Test, is set for lift-off this Saturday night at Sydney’s Valvoline Raceway.

The event, now in its 14th season, has attracted a massive 61 nominations which is made up of drivers from Australia, New Zealand and America. A nomination list of his magnitude hasn’t been seen in Australia for a long time.

It is a formidable list of Australians who have nominated for the Sydney City 50 Lap Classic with a long list of favourites from the states around the country. There are 44 nominations in total from Australia.

Matt Smith Lone Wolf Photography cropped

Photo: Lone Wolf Photography

Leading the list of NSW drivers is last Saturday night’s Speedcar Super Series Grand Final winner Matt Smith. Despite limited track time, Smith drove a very calculated feature race to take the win and in doing so, has earnt one of the favourite tags. Alongside Smith is Matt Jackson. As one of the shining lights in NSW, Jackson will look at building on his third place last Saturday night in the Sydney City 50 Lap Classic.

Other chances amongst the NSW drivers is Michael Stewart. After notching up six feature-race wins, Stewart is one of the favourites, as, too, are the Jenkins brothers: Troy and Darren. Both will be using the experience they have gained at Valvoline Raceway over the years to be in contention. Australian Champion Kaidon Brown will also be one to watch along with fellow youngsters Jaimie McKinlay and Reagan Angel.

From Queensland comes the recently crowned Qld Champion Troy Ware. After finishing an impressive eighth in the Speedcar Super Series feature race last Saturday night from the back of the field, Ware is more than capable to take the fight up to the front. Also looking to make an impression for their state are youngster Rusty Whittaker and veteran Darren Vine.

Leading the Victorian charge is newly-crowned Speedcar Super Series Champion Travis Mills. Hoping to cap off a very successful season, which also included a win in the Victorian Speedcar Title and a fourth-place Australian Championship finish, Mills is more than capable of getting to the front.

Other Victorian chances include Andy Pearce. The veteran recently celebrated a win at the Easter Nationals at Murray Bridge Speedway and will be one to look out for. Throw in Mike Griffiths and feature-race winning rookie Dillon Ghent and the Victorian list looks very strong.

The lone South Australian entered for the Sydney City 50 Lap Speedcar Classic is Brett Ireland. The well-travelled Murray Bridge-based racer has had a few successes in season 2017-18 which included an impressive seventh place finish in the WA Speedcar Title along with a fourth-place finish in the USA vs Australia Challenge at Margaret River Speedway, WA.

From Western Australia will be Dayne Kingshott and Lee Redmond. Kingshott, a four-time WA Champion, is no stranger to Sydney and has had a minor podium finish in a past Sydney City 50 Lap Classic attempt.

While Redmond has recently returned to the driver’s seat after being forced out with injury. Redmond comes to Sydney with plenty of experience to his name, which has included a pair of WA Title runner-up finishes in 2015-16 and 2016-17 seasons.

Michael Pickens Crashys Photos cropped

Photo: Crashy's Photos

From New Zealand, a field of 15 drivers will aim to improve the current win count for the Kiwis of five. Michael Pickens, who has won all those five will once again return, driving the Sydney-based Brett Morris in what has, over the years, been a very successful partnership.

Also, amongst the list of Kiwis is seasoned Australian visitor Hayden Williams. Driving Scott Wilson-owned car from Queensland, Williams knows his way around Valvoline Raceway and will no doubt be a threat to take the win.

Surprising many on his maiden visit to Valvoline Raceway was Hayden Guptill. At one stage during qualifying at last weekend’s Speedcar Super Series, Guptill lowered the one lap track record and finished the feature-race inside the top five.

Among other threats are Brad Mosen and Shayne Allach. Both are no strangers to Sydney, although Allach hasn’t raced in Sydney since 1999; however, both will be looking to return to New Zealand with the winner’s trophy.

Representing America are two highly skilled racers: Alex Bright and Zach Daum. Both drivers have had extensive experience racing in Australia with Bright coming home third in the Australian Championship. Like his USA counterpart, Daum has had a strong run in Australia this season with a third place in this season’s prestigious Australian Grand Prix at Gunnedah Speedway.

Also forming part of the night’s proceedings will be the Trans-Tasman Test. In what promises to be an emotion-filled series of races, the Kiwis and Australians will face-off in two times eight-lap races to decide who will be the Trans-Tasman Test winners.

The format for the Sydney City 50 Lap Classic will see each driver compete in two heat races each, totalling 10 heat races, followed by a C main, B main and the 50-lap feature race which will sure be a test of machinery.

Sydney City 50 Lap Classic Nominations (59):
AU 1 Kaidon Brown
N3 Darren Jenkins
NZ4 Taylor Clarke
V4 Luke Ferguson
N5 Marcus Dumesny
NZ5 Brock Maskovich
Q6 Darren Vine
V10 Travis Mills
NZ11 Shayne Alach
V12 Justin McMinn
N14 Zach Daum
NZ14 Caleb Antonio-Rooney
V15 Andy Pearce
Q18 Nathan Mathers
NZ21 Carl Worboys
V22 Joe Lostitch
V23 Brayden Willmington
W24 Dayne Kingshott
N26 Jamie Hall
N27 Reagan Angel
V27 Dillon Ghent
N33 DJ Raw
N34 Jeffrey Burns
N36 Stephen Birkett
Q36 Callum Whatmore
V39 Nick Parker
N40 Gary Rooke
N41 Jordan Mackay
Q42 Hayden Williams
Q46 Lance Towns
N47 Brendan Scorgie
WA4 Alex Bright
N51 Michael Stewart
Q51 Tim Farrell
WA52 Lee Redmond
N54 Alan Day
N62 Daniel Biner
N63 Mitchell Brien
NZ63 Jayden Worthington
NZ69 Jayden Dodge
N70 Matt Smith
N71 Michael Pickens
NZ71 Breyton Davison
Q71 Troy Ware
V71 Domain Ramsay
V75 Mike Griffiths
N76 Bob Jackson
N78 Troy Jenkins
NZ7 Brad Mosen
Q82 Jason Bell
S83 Brett Ireland
NZ88 Jeremy Webb
Q89 Rusty Whittaker
NZ91 Hayden Guptill
NZ17 Chris McCutcheon
NZ96 Thomas Mclean
N97 Matthew Jackson
N98 Jamie McKinlay
Q98 Reid Mackay

Speedcar Association of NSW would like to thank their valued supporters that have helped to make the Sydney City 50 Lap Classic a possibility:
Brett Morris (Aus)
Brett and Leigh Morris (NZ)
Valvoline Raceway (Barry and Felicity Waldron)
DMS Global
Seamount Racing
Speedcars Australia
Speedcar Association of NSW
Speedway NSW
BSL Racing
American Tire & Racing Services
Precision Air Services
G&R Property Group
Precision Air Electrical
Rondalee Steel Fabrication and Shade Sails
Bringelly Stock Feed
Big Rat Skip Bins
Sirrom Racing
Blackshaw’s Smash Repairs
Hawk Race Engines Australia
Syd-Fab - Sydney Fabrication Services
A One Lift Truck Services
PASS Powdercoating & Sandblasting
JBK Smash Repairs
Hoosier Tire Australia
Syndicate Communications
GJ Aluminium and Glass
Rod Bowen’s Prestige Smash Repairs

To find out more about Speedcar Association of NSW, LIKE them on Facebook by searching Speedcar Association of NSW.

Excitement Builds for Sydney City 50 Lap Classic