Thursday, 19 July 2018

17 7 17 dirt mods


Victorian-based racer Steve Milthorpe scored an impressive victory in last Saturday night’s rescheduled Queensland V8 Dirt Modified Title, which doubled as the fifth and penultimate 5 Star Dirt Series round, at Maryborough Speedway.

Off the back of seventh-place finish in the previous weekend’s Australian Championship at Rockhampton’s Rocky Speedway, where Kevin Britten managed to go back to back, Milthorpe was determined to clinch the Queensland Title crown from defending champion Britten.

Showing solid pace from the outset, Milthorpe earned his front row start in the Queensland Title-deciding feature race, by virtue of winning two of his heat races, lining up alongside pole-sitter and former Australian Champion David Clark.

While Clark got the jump on Milthorpe for the lead at the drop of the green flag, Milthorpe immediately returned serve, pipping Clark in the opening stages and going on to lead for the remainder of the 30-lap distance to take the victory. While Clark remained close to Milthorpe, he wasn’t quite close enough to launch an attack on the leader, being forced to settle for the runner-up spot, with youngster Chris Corbett (NSW) completing the podium in third for the second time in as many race meetings, having also finished third in the Australian Championship.

0000 Steve Milthorpe

Photo: Darren Hastings

Finishing just off the podium in fourth was Victorian Champion and current Australia # 2 Scott Cannon (NSW), while Dan Scott (Vic) delivered a solid performance to round out the top-five finishers.

It was a difficult night for Britten, who did well to salvage a sixth-place finish after starting from position 11, with former Australian Champion Andrew Pezzutti (NSW), Trent Scofield, Josh Rose (NSW) and Ray Klarich rounding out the top 10.

The remaining finishers were Andrew Firth (NSW), newcomer Terry Leerentveld, Simon Blandford (NSW - the highest placed Crate engine competitor), Lance Towns, Anthony Ashen (NSW), Nick Knott (NSW), Trevor Wiley, Graeme Holland and Phil Roberts.

Dale Corbett (NSW) was one of only two retirements from the feature race, pulling to the infield on lap 10, with Matt Ingrey, who had impressively qualified out of position 7, quickly following suit a lap later.

In the earlier heat races, Milthorpe and Klarich were the only drivers to double up, scoring two wins each, with remaining heat-race wins shared between Ingrey, Clark, Cannon, Scott and Chris Corbett.

This Saturday night will see drivers contest the 5 Star Dirt Series Grand Final, which is also going to be the NSW Title, at Lismore Speedway, where Britten will be hoping to solidify his lead in the series point standings, while second-placed Chris Corbett will look to hinder his chances.

To find out more about Dirt Modifieds Australia, visit their website at or LIKE them on Facebook by searching DMA V8 Dirt Modifieds.

250 4 7 18 boetcher

250 clarko

250 5STAR Side BannerA

 NEW awsr sml

7 3 18 blackswhaw layered 249

v3 2017 GW sml

250 redline 250

250 amca

250 qlsra 249x84

power plus 250px