Monday, 18 June 2018

17 7 17 dirt mods


While Saturday night saw local Andrew Pezzutti claim the NSW V8 Dirt Modified Title at Lismore Speedway, it was Kevin Britten who consolidated his points lead to clinch the overall 5 Star Dirt Series victory.

In a feature race which was full of excitement, and which also doubled as the final 5 Star Dirt Series round, Pezzutti was the only driver to hold his line for the full 30-lap duration, taking top honours and collecting his fifth career NSW State Title crown; however, current Australian and WA Champion Britten’s third-place finish was enough to secure him the 5 Star Dirt Series win for the second season in a row.

5 Star Series Podium

Having earned his pole position start, by virtue of a strong performance during his heat races, Pezzutti set the pace in the feature race from the outset. Despite moving into lapped traffic after 10 laps, Pezzutti maintained his composure and managed to navigate his fellow competitors, going on to clinch the NSW Title victory aboard his NSW # 25 Brad Marr built chassis; an impressive feat, given that his locally-built machine was up against a field of American imported ‘big name’ chassis, such as Troyer and Bicknell.

After starting a fair way down the feature-race field in 11th, David Clark (Qld) put in a great performance to come home in the runner-up spot, having pipped Britten (Qld) on the last lap after a great side-by-side battle, with the latter being forced to settle for third.

Improving five places on his starting position, Scott Quirk finished just off the podium in fourth, ahead of Ray Eggins, Dan Scott (Vic), current Victorian Champion Scott Cannon, Lee McKinnell (Qld), current Queensland Champion Steve Milthorpe (Vic) and Andrew Firth in 10th. The remaining feature-race finishers included Chris Corbett, Brent Hall, Phil McNamara, Nick Knott, Lance Towns (Qld), Paul Booker and Graeme Holland (Qld).

Modlites hard-charger and newcomer to the V8 Dirt Modified class Terry Leerentveld (Qld) had a night to forget, struggling with car setup from the outset and recording a fifth, a seventh and a DNF in his heat races, before once again retiring to the infield in the feature race due to a battery issue, after starting 20th. A fuel leak resulted in a DNF for Trent Scofield, with Anthony Ashen (Qld) and Simon Blandford also visiting the infield, after a clash between the pair 12 laps into the feature race ended both of their nights.

Earlier in the night, McKinnell and Pezzutti doubled up in their heat races with two wins each, while the remaining heat-race wins went the way of Britten, Cannon, Ashen, Milthorpe and Scott.

Finishing runner-up to Britten in the final 5 Star Dirt Series point standings was Milthorpe, with Cannon completed the top-three finishers. Pezzutti and Scott finished back in fourth and fifth place respectively.

To find out more about Dirt Modifieds Australia, visit their website at or LIKE them on Facebook by searching DMA V8 Dirt Modifieds.

250 boetcher

250 clarko

250 5STAR Side BannerA

 NEW awsr sml

keens5 4 2017 sml

7 3 18 blackswhaw layered 249

v3 2017 GW sml

250 redline 250

250 amca

250 qlsra 249x84

power plus 250px