Thursday, 19 July 2018


One of the newest classes on the Australian speedway scene, Legend Cars is steadily continuing to grow in both popularity and competitor numbers, with our top five each having proven the competitiveness of the class.

1. Kyle Angel (NSW)
The youngster has certainly impressed this season, having proven on countless occasions that he has what it takes to go up against some tough competition in one of the country’s most competitive classes. This season, the 17 year old showed experience beyond his years to take out the Valvoline Raceway Track Championship, having gone up against 40 to 50 competitive cars during each visit to the track. He won the Queensland Title, finished second in the NSW Title and placed third INEX Drivers Championship, while also running in podium contention in the Australian Title, before experiencing mechanical issues.

Kyle Angel

Photo: Crashy's Photos

2. Rob Rawlings Jnr. (ACT)
In his final season in Legend Cars, before making the move to Compact Speedcars next season, Rawlings Jnr. definitely went out on a high, delivering a herculean drive in the inaugural Australian Title to clinch the runner-up spot, after being sent rear due to making contact with another competitor.

3. Glen Arnold (NSW)
At just 21 years of age, Arnold achieved a new career highlight this season, qualifying in pole position for the inaugural Australian Title feature race at Sydney’s Valvoline Raceway, before going on to withstand significant pressure from his rivals to take a thrilling victory and become the first ever Australian Legend Car Champion; a feat he achieved with only four previous meetings under his belt for the season. Arnold also came away with a third-place result in the NSW Title.

4. Glenn Mitchell (NSW)
2016-17 was a banner season for Mitchell, who managed to reclaim the ACT Title, before going on to score a dominant win in the Victorian Title at Wahgunyah Speedway, after also taking out the doubleheader at Bairnsdale and Rosedale Speedways. Continuing to display great pace, Mitchell came home fourth overall in the Australian Title and first in the Masters Class at the same event, while also placing fourth in the NSW Title.

5. Liam Heaton (ACT)
Exceeding even his own expectations earlier in the season, Heaton reached new heights when he delivered a composed race to win the NSW Title at Leeton’s massive Brobenah Raceway track, which also double as his maiden feature-race win. Proving that this was no accident, the 21 year old also finished runner up in the Victorian and ACT Titles, and sixth in the Australian Title.

250 4 7 18 boetcher

250 clarko

250 5STAR Side BannerA

 NEW awsr sml

7 3 18 blackswhaw layered 249

v3 2017 GW sml

250 redline 250

250 amca

250 qlsra 249x84

power plus 250px