Friday, 22 June 2018


Terry Leerentveld couldn’t ask for better form heading into the Australian Modlites Title at Whyalla’s Westline Speedway this Australia Day long weekend, having claimed last Saturday night’s South Australian Title in his first ever visit to the track.

Travelling over 2,000 kilometres from his hometown of Dalby in Queensland, the current Australian and Queensland Champion lined up from the outside of the front row for the 20-lap feature race by virtue of a win, a third and a second-place finish in his earlier heat races.

Snatching the lead from the drop of the green, Leerentveld could not be beaten, managing to withstand multiple restarts in the disjointed feature race, going flag-to-flag to claim the South Australian Title honours.

 000 Terry L

The in-form South Australian and feature-race pole sitter Danny Prade came home in the runner-up spot ahead of local Michael Brown, who claimed the final podium spot in third.

Finishing just off the podium in fourth was Aaron Prosser, with Wayne Donaldson, Todd Bennett, Robert Hardy, Scott Webb, Duran Cowland and Nathan Politch rounding out the top-10 finishers. Cory Hodgson and Shane Howard completed the remaining finishers.

A total of six cars were forced to retire to the infield during the turbulent feature race, including Brendan Tucker, Ty Forrestal, Sean Rose, Brian Chadwick, local Andy Maxwell Jnr and Brent ‘BK’ Halliday.

Equally as consistent as Leerentveld earlier in the night, Prade also came away with a win, a second and a third-place finish in his heat races, while remaining heat-race wins went the way of Maxwell Jnr, Howard, Hardy, Rose, Bennett, Prosser and Donaldson.

Tucker earned his transfer spot into the feature race by winning the 14-lap B main, with Politch, Halliday and Forrestal securing the remaining transfer spots. Of the four B-main transferees, Politch was the only feature-race finisher, coming home in 10th.

With the South Australian Title now complete, the Modlites now turn their attention to the Australian Title, which commences this Thursday (Australia Day) at Westline Speedway with practice and the Calcutta, and continues over two huge nights of racing on Friday and Saturday nights.

AU title modlite fb promo

Despite his recent victory, Leerentveld’s task of defending his Australian Title will not be easy. With a stout field of over 30 drivers nominated for the event, the Australian Title is sure to produce some action-packed racing this weekend.

To find out more about Modlites Australia, visit their website at or LIKE them on Facebook by searching Modlites Australia.

250 boetcher

250 clarko

250 5STAR Side BannerA

 NEW awsr sml

keens5 4 2017 sml

7 3 18 blackswhaw layered 249

v3 2017 GW sml

250 redline 250

250 amca

250 qlsra 249x84

power plus 250px