Friday, 22 June 2018


This Saturday night’s New South Wales Modlites Title will be fought out at Sydney’s Valvoline Raceway for the first time, with 25 plus drivers from three different states nominated for the event.

In what is a major coup for drivers and organisers, the fourth running of the event will see the class make its debut at Sydney’s premier speedway venue, as the state’s form drivers will attempt to fend off a strong line-up of Queensland and South Australian invaders.

Leading the charge for the Sunshine State will be recently dethroned Australian Champion Terry Leerentveld, who will no doubt be difficult to overthrow, with the current Queensland and South Australian Champion knowing just what it takes to win a NSW Title, having impressively won the 2013-14 season running of the event at Gunnedah Speedway during his rookie season with the class.

Aaron Prosser

Newly-crowned Australian Champion Aaron Prosser will also give his rivals a run for their money, with the Queenslander and Leerentveld’s main rival currently in the best form possible heading into the NSW Title, which will be his first appearance as Australian Champion. Scott Lehfeldt will have some added confidence off the back of a runner-up finish in last month’s South Australian Title at Whyalla’s Westline Speedway, and he will be hoping to claim his maiden state title victory.

Former Queensland Champion Will Butler will also be one to watch, along with Nathan Politch, who will be a front-running threat. Other Queensland contenders include Robert Hardy, Chris Crowe, Wayne Donaldson, Troy Evans, Carlo Maiolo, Ben Walker, Sean Rose and Brendan Tucker.

Heading the local field will be defending NSW Champion and consistent front-runner Robbie Swain, who will be looking for a repeat of last season’s results in order to claim back-to-back victories in the event. Running the Barry Hallett-owned car, Glenn Mitchell will hope to capitalise on his Valvoline Raceway knowledge, having had the most experience at the track of any of the drivers in the field.

The first female to race Modlites in the history of the class, Janelle Saville will be the lone female racer in Saturday night’s line-up, piloting the Bruce Adams-owned car. Saville will be hoping to gain as much experience as possible at the unfamiliar track, after recently stepping into the class from GP Midgets. Completing the local field are Kenny Brooks, Andrew Martin and Glen Hoogwaerts, who are all hoping to come away with solid results.

Graham Knuckey and Scott Webb complete the NSW Title field and are flying the flag for the state of South Australia.

The NSW Title format will consist of two rounds of eight-lap heat races per driver and the 20-lap NSW Title-deciding feature race.

To find out more about the NSW Modlites Title, contact Tim Davies on 0449 522 422, visit the Modlites Australia website at, or LIKE Modlites NSW on Facebook by searching Modlites NSW.

250 boetcher

250 clarko

250 5STAR Side BannerA

 NEW awsr sml

keens5 4 2017 sml

7 3 18 blackswhaw layered 249

v3 2017 GW sml

250 redline 250

250 amca

250 qlsra 249x84

power plus 250px