Friday, 22 June 2018


Always producing thrilling and entertaining racing, Late Models were once again a highlight for spectators this season, no doubt due to the tenacious nature in which each driver, our top 10 in particular, takes to the track.

1. Jamie Oldfield (WA)
Once again a shining light in WA, Oldfield had a number of reasons to celebrate this season, collecting his second WA Title and taking out the hotly-contested Pro Dirt Series, while also driving to a hard-fought victory in the final ever Magic Man 34 event at the Perth Motorplex.

Jamie Oldfield Peter Roebuck

Photo: Peter Roebuck

2. Ben Nicastri (NSW)
One of many young up and coming talents, Nicastri was extremely competitive this season, racing to a number of pleasing results, most notably in the Victorian and SA Titles, where he managed to pick up a pair of state title crowns. Wrapping up the NSW Club Championship point score, Nicastri also placed fourth in the NSW Title and came home fifth in the Australian Title.

3. Callum Harper (Tas)
Having only made a handful of Late Model appearances this season while splitting his time between Super Sedans, Harper proved his versatility when he wrote his name into the history books, claiming a convincing win in the Australian Late Model Title, just months after also being crowned the 2015-16 National Super Sedan Champion. Racking up a total of 10 feature-race wins and scoring a runner-up result in the Easternapolis, Harper was also recently named the Overall Sportsperson of the Year at the 2017 Australian Speedway Awards thanks to his efforts in both classes.

4. Darren Kane (Qld)
Despite only making four appearances in Late Models, while also running Super Sedans this season, Kane experienced significant success in the class, winning three of his four contested race meetings, two of which were the NSW and Queensland Titles, with his only other result being a solid seventh-place finish in the Australian Title.

5. Warren Oldfield (WA)
Off the back of a stellar 2015-16 season, Oldfield didn’t quite get the results he was looking for, however a consistent season performance still saw him place second in the WA Title and third in the Pro Dirt Series, while also being presented with the WA Late Models Driver’s Driver award.

6. David Doherty (NSW)
In a season highlighted with an impressive runner-up finish in the Australian Title, which came off the back of another runner-up finish in the prelude to the Australian Title at Warrnambool’s Premier Speedway, Doherty also managed to come home third in the NSW Title at Sydney’s Valvoline Raceway. Recently receiving the ultimate commendation from his peers, Doherty was presented with the Driver’s Driver award at the NSW Late Models presentation night.

banner 644x100

7. Ryan Fenech (NSW)
Scoring a comfortable victory in the Easter 5000 event and placing second in the final NSW Club Championship point standings to Nicastri, Fenech’s season was also highlighted by a dominant victory in the penultimate Club Championship round at Valvoline Raceway on what was his 22nd birthday.

8. Paul Stubber (WA)
Stubber’s season saw him deliver a great drive in the Australian Title at Premier Speedway to complete the podium in third, mirroring his third-place result from the Australian Title prelude event held at the track earlier in the season, while also achieving a fourth-place result in the SA Title. Despite placing 11th in the final Pro Dirt Series point standings, Stubber managed to collect two feature-race podiums in series rounds, highlighted by a win at the Perth Motorplex.

9. Cameron Pearson (Vic)
After an impressive debut season, Pearson reached new heights in his second season with the class, securing first place in the Victorian Club Championship as a result of picking up three feature-race wins. The 18 year old also showed great tenacity in the Victorian Title to claim a hard-fought runner-up finish behind Ben Nicastri.

10. Craig Vosbergen (WA)
Veteran racer Vosbergen utilised his consistent solid form in this season’s Australian Title, managing to qualify on the outside of the front row, before closing the event with a pleasing fourth-place finish.

250 boetcher

250 clarko

250 5STAR Side BannerA

 NEW awsr sml

keens5 4 2017 sml

7 3 18 blackswhaw layered 249

v3 2017 GW sml

250 redline 250

250 amca

250 qlsra 249x84

power plus 250px