Thursday, 19 July 2018


For the first time in seven years, Junior Sedans were excited to make their return to Sydney’s Valvoline Raceway on Saturday night, in what proved to be a very positive comeback.

Having initially started racing at the Sydney venue back in 2004, when they consistently produced large car counts and competitive racing, youngsters, aged between 10 and 16 years, from all over NSW travelled to the track, from as far south as Canberra, as far north as Lismore and as far west as Dubbo, to be a part of the momentous occasion.

“It was fantastic to have the Junior Sedans back at Valvoline Raceway, which is considered one of the country’s premier speedway tracks,” commented Ray Healey from Junior Sedans NSW/ACT.

“The drivers put on a great show and were very respectful to each other throughout the event. We commend Valvoline Raceway for inviting them back to the track and we’re extremely appreciative to have been given this opportunity.”

Photo: Crashy's Photos

Acting as a stepping stone for young drivers before they move into senior classes, Juniors Sedans have produced a number of talented drivers throughout the years, including current Victorian and South Australian Late Model Champion Ben Nicastri, current National Street Stocks # 3 John Lodge Jnr and 410 Sprintcar racer Matt Smith, just to mention a few.

With many of them having experienced Junior Sedans at some point in their racing career, the senior drivers were especially accommodating to the Junior Sedans drivers, in what was a great encouragement boost for them.

With 16 cars contesting two heat races and a feature race, organisers were impressed with the clean nature in which the young drivers raced against each other, with the event seeing only one stoppage, which took place in the feature race.

Josh Boyd was a dominant force from the outset, qualifying on pole for the feature race and going on to lead each of the 10 laps, before taking a comfortable win, ahead of Josh Weir and Ethan Brown in second and third place respectively.

Liam Murphy and Matthew Weir rounded out the top five, while remaining finishers were Harrison Granger, Ryley Smith, Bek Giffin, Sarah Bradley, Sam Mooney, Max Essai, Tarah Swadling, Jackson Goldie and Zac Hignett. Olivia Fuller and Jaiden Healey were the only non-finishers in the feature race.

The earlier heat-race wins were awarded to Matthew Weir and Boyd.

The Junior Sedans will return to Valvoline Raceway on June 10 for their annual winter race meeting.

Photo: Crashy's Photos

Photo: Crashy's Photos

250 4 7 18 boetcher

250 clarko

250 5STAR Side BannerA

 NEW awsr sml

7 3 18 blackswhaw layered 249

v3 2017 GW sml

250 redline 250

250 amca

250 qlsra 249x84

power plus 250px