Friday, 22 June 2018


While 2016-17 was one again a banner season for Darren Kane, a number of rivals in the hotly-contested Super Sedan class certainly did a fantastic job of taking the challenge to the experienced racer, scoring a number of pleasing results in the process.

1. Darren Kane (Qld)
Doubling up in our rankings, this time clinching the top spot, Kane’s position is certainly warranted, after racking up his third National Title at Albany’s Attwell Park Speedway this season, along with winning his sixth NSW Title crown, clean sweeping the four-round Summer Slam and recording a total of 10 feature-race wins. Kane also narrowly missed out on top honours in the Queensland and WA Titles, coming home in the runner-up spot.

000 Darren Kane 1

Photo: Crashy's Photos

2. Mat Pascoe (Qld)
Managing to keep the in-form Kane honest in the Queensland and WA Titles, the Pascoe scored brilliant victories in both events, while also winning a further three feature races, and completing the National Title podium in third, placing him a strong second in our rankings.

3. Mick Nicola (Vic)
It was a fantastic season for the three-time National Champion, which saw him win the Tasmanian Title and the $5,000 to win Gold Rush in quick succession, while also featuring in a number of other title events, placing third in the NSW Title, fourth in the Queensland Title and fifth in the National Title.

4. Callum Harper (Tas)
Being named Sedan Competitor of the Year, along with Overall Sportsperson of the Year, at the recent 2017 Australian Speedway Awards, Harper is without a doubt deserving of his second appearance in our rankings, having driven to 10 feature-race wins this season. Successfully defending his Long Track Classic crown and taking out the Grand National and the Grand Prix in his home state, the 25-year-old former National Champion, who was unable to achieve a Tasmanian Title hat trick due to blowing an engine, also placed fourth in the Victorian Title, in addition to his Late Models success.

banner 644x100

5. Dave Gartner (SA)
Despite a late start to the season, making his first appearance just prior to the National Title, Gartner certainly impressed in the event, collecting the third National Title runner-up result of his career, before achieving his fifth career and third consecutive SA Title victory at Murray Bridge Speedway in March, setting a new 30-lap track record in the process.

6. Ryan Alexander (SA)
It was a strong 2016-17 season for Alexander, whose best result came when he qualified in pole position for the National Title and led for 22 laps before suffering a heartbreaking premature retirement. Winning the Bill Miller Fireball Derby at Adelaide Motorsport Park, the 23 year old achieved seven feature-race wins this season and also placed second in both the Grand National and Grand Prix in Tasmania, third and fourth in the SA and WA Titles respectively. Closing his season in the best way possible, Alexander also scored a victory for the newly-formed Hussey Racing Team.

7. Peter Nicola (Vic)
After a somewhat challenging season, Nicola managed to turn things around in the Victorian Title at Rushworth Speedway, where he gave a blistering performance to take a convincing win after starting eighth, while also collecting another four feature-race victories and ending up second in the Long Track Classic at Leeton’s Brobenah Raceway.

8. Michael Miller (SA)
Yet again displaying good pace in his Dominator machine, Miller qualified pole for the SA Title at Murray Bridge Speedway this season, eventually losing out to fellow Dominator pilot Gartner to finish second. Another strong qualifying performance saw him line up on the front row for the National Title, before being forced to retire to the infield on the opening lap due to hitting a rut and breaking a panard bar.

clarko 644x100

9. Mark Pagel (Qld)
Being at the pinnacle of the local competition throughout Queensland and continuing to carry strong form throughout the season, Pagel had the big honour of taking out the Think Money Championship Series, by virtue of picking up a number of feature-race wins, with the Gympie-based racer also coming away fifth in the Queensland Title.

10. Corey Smith (Tas)
After a shocking start to the season, with his car being destroyed in a crash, Smith’s fortune improved, with an unscheduled trip to the mainland for repairs in the latter half of 2016-17 leading to an opportunity to race in the latter half of the season when the car was fixed. Despite some unfortunate DNFs throughout his campaign, the Tasmanian impressed on several occasions when he went up against the mainlanders, driving to a runner-up result in the Gold Rush, finishing a solid fourth in the SA Title and seventh in the NSW Title.

250 boetcher

250 clarko

250 5STAR Side BannerA

 NEW awsr sml

keens5 4 2017 sml

7 3 18 blackswhaw layered 249

v3 2017 GW sml

250 redline 250

250 amca

250 qlsra 249x84

power plus 250px