Friday, 22 June 2018


The 2016-17 season saw a great mixture of experience and new talent come to the fore in Modified Sedans, with numerous young guns certainly holding their own against their more experienced counterparts.

1. Rodney Pammenter (Qld)
It was a fantastic season for the always-competitive Pammenter, whose six feature-race wins included two state titles, having successfully defended his NSW Title crown, while also taking out the Queensland Title and the prestigious Golden Helmet Series. Pammenter also completed the podium with a solid third-place result in the Kings Royal at Kingaroy Speedway.

Rodney Pammenter Modified Sedans

2. Aidan Raymont (Qld)
Also clinching a pair of state title crowns this season, Raymont raced his way to victory in the Victorian and SA Titles, while also giving Pammenter a run for his money in the Queensland Title at Brisbane’s Archerfield Speedway, earning him the runner-up spot in our rankings.

3. Kye Walters (Vic)
Featuring strongly in a number of blue-ribbon events this season, the young gun continued to impress throughout the season, placing equal first in the VMPA Series with Cockerill, along with coming home third in both the SA Title and the Murray Magic, and scoring a promising fifth-place result in both the Victorian and NSW Titles. One event that left him with mixed emotions was the National Title, where he impressively qualified in pole position, before slipping back through the pack and making unavoidable contact with another competitor who spun.

4. Nick Cockerill (Vic)
The former National Junior Sedan Champion achieved his best result of the season in the National Title at Murray Bridge Speedway, charging his way forward to a third-place finish, after starting eighth, while also being awarded equal first place with Kye Walters in the VMPA Series.

clarko 644x100

5. Matty Smith (Qld)
Experiencing a debut season to remember, Smith achieved some remarkable results during his limited appearances, most notably making history in April when he was crowned National Champion, becoming the youngest driver ever to win a Speedway Sedans Australia National Title in a senior class at the age of just 17.

6. Greg Worling (Qld)
The former National Champion’s season highlight came when he claimed his second victory in the hotly-contested Kings Royal in four years of competing in the event, closing the season with a total of three feature-race wins under his belt.

7. Mark Carlin (Vic)
The three-time National Champion, whose season was highlighted by his performance in the NSW Title, which saw him greet the chequered flag in the runner-up spot, showed plenty of pace throughout 2016-17 season, but was unable to capitalise on his pace to achieve more results.

8. Tim Atkin (Qld)
Coming out of a successful stint in Production Sedans and stepping into Modified Sedans with the Allan Nash-owned Nashy Racing team, Atkin achieved an incredible result in the National Title, completing the podium in third with less than a dozen races to his name since joining the class. A regular front-runner throughout each race meeting, Atkin collected three feature-race wins, while also finishing fourth in the Queensland Title.

banner 644x100

9. Clint Noakes (WA)
2016-17 was a breakout season for Noakes, who achieved his maiden WA Title victory at Mount Barker Speedway in March, and did well to recover and come home seventh in the National Title, after being sent rear of field due to spinning out. Backing up his strong form recently, Noakes also took out the Far Western Championship at Shark Bay Speedway.

10. Ash Parkinson (Vic)
Despite limited appearances this season, the veteran racer and former National Champion proved that he can still mix it up with the best, delivering a strong performance throughout the entire Murray Magic event at Mildura’s Timmis Speedway, managing to claim a dominant victory over a number of formidable opponents.

250 boetcher

250 clarko

250 5STAR Side BannerA

 NEW awsr sml

keens5 4 2017 sml

7 3 18 blackswhaw layered 249

v3 2017 GW sml

250 redline 250

250 amca

250 qlsra 249x84

power plus 250px