Saturday, 26 May 2018

clarko 644x100


Leeton’s Brobenah Raceway is gearing up for a huge night of racing this Saturday night, as they prepare to host the Super Sedans Long Track Classic, along with the Production Sedans 1000 event.

Off the back of a successful 2015-16 season running of the event, the $5,500 to win Long Track Classic, supported by LMSC and De Paoli Transport, is set to return to the huge 940-metre track, which is regarded as Australia’s largest speedway track, with defending champion Callum Harper (Tas) no doubt being one of the hot favourites.

The former National Champion knows just what it takes to navigate the Brobenah Raceway track, and will be hoping to utilise this knowledge to score back to back wins in the event, while last season’s runner up Lucas Roberts (Vic) will be hoping to go one better to take top honours. The pair has occupied the top two spots over the last two seasons, with Roberts having won the 2014-15 season running of the event, while Harper finished second.

Callum Harper 29

Photo: Crashy's Photos

Recently collecting a feature-race win in the Gold Rush event at Rushworth Speedway, Mick Nicola (Vic) is currently in fine form and will surely be one to watch, along with former NSW Champion Lachlan Onley, who will attempt to improve on last season’s Long Track Classic result, having completed the podium in third.

Flying the flag for the locals will be Wayne Aylett and Danny Harrison. The latter predominantly races Production Sedans and will be completing double duties on the night.

Former Queensland Champion Peter Nicola (Vic), brother of Mick, is certainly not to be discounted, having finished just off the podium in fourth in last season’s Long Track Classic. He will be joined by Brad Wicks (Vic), Adam Box (Vic), who scored his maiden feature-race win earlier this season, and Ben Faulkhead (Vic), with Paul Kranitis and Lyle Harris rounding out the host-state nominations.

Heading up the field for the Aylett Automotive Production Sedans 1000, which offers $1,000 to win, will be local Wayne Bourke, who heads into the event with added confidence off the back of winning last Saturday night’s Rocky Hill Royale at Goulburn Speedway, along with third-place finisher Craig McAlister. After finishing second in last season’s NSW Title at the Leeton venue to Queenslander Tim Atkin, Bourke, a former Australia # 2, will be focused on clinching the top spot, while current ACT Champion Wes Barnes will hope to hinder his chances.

Along with Harrison, who will no doubt have a busy night ahead of him due to racing two classes, fellow local nominations include Hawkins brothers, Nathan and Scott, who will be expected to figure well, along with Phil Menz and Wagga-based racers Paul Barklem, Jason Boardman and Charlie Ball.

A competitive field of 14 GOSA Sedans will also be supporting the event, headed by current Victorian Champion Clint Henderson, who will go up against a talented list of locals including Mitch Watts, Mick Pettit, Jamie and Todd Atkins and Frank Gordon, along with eight Corowa-based visitors.

Drivers will compete in three rounds of heat races and a 30-lap feature race, which will be the format for both the Long Track Classic and the Production Sedans 1000.

Scrutineering will commence at 2pm, with racing to start at 4.30pm.

Entry prices for spectators are as follows: adults $25, aged pensioners $10, families $60 and children under 14 FREE.

Brobenah Raceway is located at Brobenah Hall Road, Leeton NSW 2705.

For further information about Brobenah Raceway, you can FOLLOW them on Facebook by searching Leeton Motor Sports Club or contacting club president Ron Watts on 0408 837 261.

250 boetcher

250 clarko

250 5STAR Side BannerA

 NEW awsr sml

keens5 4 2017 sml

7 3 18 blackswhaw layered 249

v3 2017 GW sml

250 redline 250

250 amca

250 qlsra 249x84

power plus 250px

 promo jav smallr

promo pass small

promo west vic sheds small

promo racegear small