Saturday, 26 May 2018

clarko 644x100


Darwin’s 7mate Northline Speedway is gearing up to get its 2017 season underway this Saturday night, with a huge night of racing scheduled that’s going to be highlighted by the Sprintcars along with a full support program.

Heading up a strong field of Sprintcars is last season’s Chariots of Thunder Sprintcar Series Champion Jason McIver, who capped the 2016 season by winning his fifth NT 360 Sprintcar Title, along with hard-charger Chace Karpenko. Karpenko, who spent the summer months competing at Sydney’s Valvoline Raceway, displayed plenty of pace at Northline Speedway last season, taking out the Pope 65 Bob Ekins Memorial race and the NT Title preliminary feature race during the Chariots of Thunder Series, as well as placing second in the NT Title.

Chace Karpenko NT 21 and Jason McIver NT 66

Photo: Nakita Pollock Photography

Having spent the 2016-17 season running in Queensland, Chris Harrison will be hoping to utilise his extra track time to come away with a strong result, off the back of having achieved two feature-race wins at Northline Speedway last season, while Jason Gebert will also be one to watch, having also ventured down south to compete at Valvoline Raceway.

Keith Phelps and Caleb Gotts will hope to be front-running contenders, while Western Australia-based Jake Beard-Miller will be basing his car in Darwin for the 2017 season and will be out to prove himself against the regulars. Jamie McInnes will be running a 360ci engine, along with the father and son duo of David and Steven Ling.

Leading the way in the Formula 500s will be current Darwin Champion John Staynoff and former Darwin Champion Hayden Brown, with both racers having shown great speed last season. Brown will no doubt be looking to redeem himself, after losing his Darwin Title to Staynoff in July.

Fast-paced Cori Jackson will also be amongst the Formula 500 nominations, along with Joseph Baronet, Boysie Bartholdt, Daniel White and Mark Tattingham.

Current NT Champion Justin Brumfield was the form driver in Street Stocks last season and will be hoping to continue his impressive form in 2017. He will be joined by proven feature-race winner Scott Bradbury, the returning Simon Spitzbarth along with his younger brother John, Ben Blatchford, James Dennis, Daniel Dennis and WA-based visitor Russell Gunn.

The always-competitive Jacob Belcher will be hoping to get his season off to the best possible start in the AMCA Nationals, as will current Darwin Champion Brendan Kenna and Peter Harding. Paul Paget, Janet Belcher, Maria Panasewyecz and Andy Allcorn will also be joining the field.

In the Speedway Karts, current Darwin Champion Kirsty Driver and Rebecca Pearce will be the likely front-runners and will be joined by Tony Brown, Damien Fry, Tim Fry, Michael Brown and Steve Driver.

After participating in the 2017 Speedway Australia Rising Star Program, Junior Sedans racer Lance Carew will be heading into the 2017 season with added knowledge and confidence, having also impressively qualified into the National Title at Mount Gambier’s Borderline Speedway earlier this season. Visiting victory lane last season, Zack Grimshaw and Isaiah Strong will be hoping to repeat their previous form, while Aleisha Grimshaw, Brodee Everett and Xavier Gotts are also expected to fare well. Other nominations include Cian Quinlan, Zac Uniacke, Liam Gotts, Natasha Henry, Nicholas Dennis and Hamish Strong.

For more information about Northline Speedway, visit their brand-new website: You can LIKE them on Facebook by searching Northline Speedway or find them on Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat by searching Northline Speedway.

250 boetcher

250 clarko

250 5STAR Side BannerA

 NEW awsr sml

keens5 4 2017 sml

7 3 18 blackswhaw layered 249

v3 2017 GW sml

250 redline 250

250 amca

250 qlsra 249x84

power plus 250px

 promo jav smallr

promo pass small

promo west vic sheds small

promo racegear small