header bg

It has certainly been an up and down 2019-20 season. Totally Speedway’s Daniel Powell has gone out and put together his Top 10 driver rankings for the Wingless Sprints.

1: Luke Weel (Vic)
To say that Weel enjoyed a great season would be quite the understatement. The Warrnambool-based racer won the inaugural Wingless Sprint Super Series point standings that was fought out over the states of NSW, Queensland and South Australia, the $3,000 to win Des Nash Memorial at the Perth Motorplex, ran third in the Australian Title and finished fourth in the $10,000 to win 60 Lapper at Murray Bridge Speedway, which locked him into the top spot of this season’s rankings.

 2: Luke Storer (Vic)
The season scorecard highlights for Storer saw him finish second in the Australian Title after winning the preliminary feature race and scoring a third-place finish in the $10,000 to win 60 Lapper. Doing the bulk of this season’s shortened racing calendar away from his home state of Victoria, Storer picked up a feature-race win at Collie Speedway and collected a third-place finish at the Perth Motorplex, which primed him for his Australian Title assault at Kalgoorlie International Speedway.

TS Luke Storer

Photo: Jon Gall

 3: Kyle Mock (NSW)
Mock caused a major upset to win the Australian Title after what was a sensational drive. He was amongst the front-runners throughout the Australian Title weekend and put it all together in the feature race. Proving that his Australian Title was no fluke, he was on the pace on home soil – Sydney’s Valvoline Raceway – and ended up fifth in the track championship’s final point standings.

TS Kyle Mock

Photo: Jon Gall

 4: Daniel Storer (Vic)
The second of the Storer family members to make this season’s top 10 rankings, Daniel, who is Luke’s older brother, was strong throughout the season. He won a Super Series round at Premier Speedway, claimed a feature-race win at Murray Bridge Speedway, and narrowly missed out on $3,000 to win Des Nash Memorial at the Perth Motorplex and ended up second after being passed by Weel on the final lap for the win. Other notable results from the season were a top-10 finish in the Australian Title and a top-five finish in the $10,000 to win 60 Lapper.

TS Daniel Storer

Photo: Jon Gall

 5: Jason Bates (NSW)
A third-place finish in the Wingless Sprint Super Series point standings and taking out the hotly contested Valvoline Raceway Track Championship point standings turned out to be the highlights of the season for the Sydneysider. For nearly a decade now, Bates has been one of the country’s fastest Wingless Sprint racers and his performances this season just gone certainly done that reputation no harm whatsoever.

TS Jason Bates

Photo: Gary Reid

 6: Casey O’Connell (Qld)
With less than 12 months of experience in a Wingless Sprint to his name, O’Connell certainly stood up to be countered during the season and on many occasions out shown his older brother and more established Wingless Sprint racer in Cody. The 17-year-old racer drove to a solid Queensland Title win at Brisbane’s Archerfield Speedway and ended up fifth in the final Wingless Sprint Super Series point standings.

TS Casey OConnell

Photo: 44 Photography

 7: Ash Hounsfield (WA)
Over in Western Australia, there was not one Wingless Sprint racer that was more consistent than Hounsfield during the season. As a result of this consistency, the Bunbury-based racer took out the overall Western Australian Club Championship point score that saw him collect two feature-race wins, along with finishing seventh in the Australian Title, fourth in the Western Australian Title and fifth in the $3,000 to win Des Nash Memorial.

TS Ash Hounsfield

Photo: Jon Gall

 8: Dayn Bentvelzen (Vic)
Bentvelzen was on the pace during the season and the highlight was finishing second in the final point standings of the Wingless Sprint Super Series. In terms of a season best result, Bentvelzen’s Super Series round victory in what was only his second visit to Sydney’s Valvoline Raceway in NSW stands out. Other noteable results during the season include a victory in the opening Victorian Super Series round at Avalon Raceway and a third-place finish in the Avalon Raceway Wingless Sprint Invitational event. 

TS Dayn Bentvelzen

Photo: Gary Reid

 9: Tom Payet (WA)
Despite not doing a whole lot of racing due to concentrating on his Speedcar racing program, Payet showed plenty of class in his limited appearances. Driving the Trevor Jolly-owned car, he scored the fifth Western Australian Title win of his career in six seasons, along with a two feature-race wins during the first half of the season.

TS Ton Payet

Photo: Peter Roebuck

 10: Ashleigh Jack (NSW)
There is no question that NSW boasts some of the toughest Wingless Sprint competition in the country, and when you come out on top in the overall NSW Club Championship point standings you have well and truly earned it. She was a model of consistency throughout the season and was rewarded with not only the NSW Club Championship honours but the final spot in this season’s rankings.

TS Ashleigh Jack

Photo: The Art of Speedway